OpenAI Tightens Rules: What It Could Mean Alongside Grok’s Costs
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: OpenAI Tightens Rules: What It Could Mean Alongside Grok’s Costs on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get smart everyday buys delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

OpenAI has added limits on how many paid accounts can be tied to a device or payment card and plans to combine ChatGPT and Codex usage allowances from December. Elon Musk said Grok Bot’s service costs were unsustainably high relative to revenue, but gave no figures or details of any change. The developments point to more metering around AI subscriptions, not an announced end to flat monthly prices.

OpenAI has tightened rules on how paid ChatGPT subscriptions can be used and plans to combine some ChatGPT and Codex allowances in December, while Elon Musk said Grok Bot’s serving costs were unsustainably high relative to revenue. The changes bring renewed attention to the limits behind AI subscriptions, but neither company has announced that its flat monthly plans are ending.

OpenAI’s help center says it limits the number of paid accounts that can be used on one device and the number of subscriptions that can be bought with one payment card or device. The rules apply to Go, Plus and the Pro plans. OpenAI has not published the numerical thresholds, so users cannot tell from the public guidance how many accounts or purchases will trigger a restriction.

OpenAI also says that from December, Plus, Pro and Business will draw from one shared allowance across ChatGPT and Codex, measured in tokens. The source material says unlimited “Instant” chats will remain outside that allowance. Separately, OpenAI’s October 29 release notes say the Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500 was doubled and a planned reduction for Pro 200 was cancelled.

Musk wrote on X on November 1 that “The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.” His reply followed a user’s request for a reset after reports that usage had run out quickly. Musk gave no cost, revenue or margin figures, and did not say whether limits, pricing or reset rules had changed. His statement concerned Grok Bot, xAI’s agent, not Grok chat as a whole.

At a glance
updateWhen: OpenAI changes announced or published i…
The developmentOpenAI announced tighter account-sharing rules and a shared ChatGPT-Codex allowance, while Elon Musk said Grok Bot’s serving costs were unsustainably high relative to revenue.
Thorsten Meyer AI
29 Oct – 1 Nov 2026

Infographic 01 · One week, four moves

More allowance, more metering: the week the AI flat rate cracked

In four days, OpenAI raised some limits, tightened others and announced one shared meter, and Musk called the cost of serving Grok Bot unsustainably high relative to revenue.

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue”Elon Musk on X, 1 November 2026, 20:34 UTC, replying to a user who asked for a Grok Bot reset

0cost or revenue figures in Musk’s post
5paid ChatGPT plans under the new device limits
DecChatGPT and Codex share one allowance
2×Work and Codex allowance, Pro 100 and Pro 500
29 Oct · Confirmed

OpenAI gives more on top plans

Pro 100 and Pro 500 get twice their Work and Codex allowance. A planned cut on Pro 200 is cancelled.

Late Oct · Confirmed

Limits per card and per device

ChatGPT may block a new subscription if too many are tied to one card or device. Applies to Go, Plus, Pro 100, 200 and 500. No number published.

31 Oct · Confirmed

One meter from December

Plus, Pro and Business: one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Unlimited Instant chats stay outside.

1 Nov · Confirmed post, no numbers

Musk: Grok Bot cost too much

One sentence, past tense. No figures, no new limit, no word on resets or prices.

Paid resets on ChatGPT pull next week’s allowance forward; they do not add usage. Credits are a prepaid balance used after the included allowance.

Sources: Musk on X, 1 Nov 2026 · Tibo on X, 29 Oct 2026 · OpenAI: card and device limits · OpenAI: ChatGPT and Codex usage limits · OpenAI: paid resets.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

Subscription Prices Meet Usage Meters

The changes matter because a monthly subscription price does not mean every task costs a provider the same amount to serve. Simple chat and longer agent tasks can use different amounts of computing, while users may see both as part of one subscription. A shared allowance makes that usage more visible across products, but also means activity in one service can affect what remains for another.

For people choosing a plan, the practical question is not just the advertised monthly price. It is also which features draw from a limit, what counts toward it, and whether the public account explains when users may run out. OpenAI has not published its device and card thresholds in the cited guidance. xAI’s documentation describes Grok Bot usage in agent steps and tokens, rather than simply counting messages.

For businesses, the developments underline the need to clarify usage limits and costs before rolling out AI tools broadly. A seat price may not show the full cost of prolonged or agent-based work. That is a planning concern, not evidence that either provider has announced a specific new charge or that all users will face higher bills.

Products Worth Considering

Apple MacBook Pro 14 2021 with M1 Max, 64GB RAM, 2TB SSD, Silver

Apple MacBook Pro 14 2021 with M1 Max, 64GB RAM, 2TB SSD, Silver

Apple Mac mini (2026) with M5 Pro chip and AppleCare+ (3‑year)

Apple Mac mini (2026) with M5 Pro chip and AppleCare+ (3‑year)

Canon imagePROGRAF PRO-1100 17-Inch Professional Wireless Inkjet Photo Printer

Canon imagePROGRAF PRO-1100 17-Inch Professional Wireless Inkjet Photo Printer

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

How the Plans and Allowances Changed

The comparison has a history. OpenAI introduced a $200-a-month ChatGPT plan in December 2024 with “unlimited access” to its best models, according to the source material. The following month, CEO Sam Altman posted that OpenAI was losing money on Pro subscriptions because people used them more than expected. That earlier post described the economics at the time; it does not establish the current financial position of the plan.

In the week before Musk’s November 1 post, OpenAI made changes that cut in different directions. On October 29, a company release said Pro 100 and Pro 500 would get twice their previous Work and Codex allowance, while a planned cut to Pro 200 was cancelled. OpenAI’s help-center guidance on device and card limits and its December shared-allowance announcement add restrictions and metering alongside those increases.

xAI’s pricing information, as described in the source material, includes Grok Bot in its Premium, Super and Ultra plans, priced at $30, $100 and $200 a month. Its weekly usage pool is shared with Grok chat and specified model use in Cursor. The source says xAI launched the X Subscription on October 12, 2026. These details relate to the cited plan and product descriptions; they do not show that every Grok service has the same usage rules.

““The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.””

— Elon Musk, replying to a user on X on November 1, 2026

Limits and Cost Figures Remain Unpublished

OpenAI has not disclosed the number of accounts or subscriptions allowed per device or payment card in the help-center guidance described here. It is also unclear how the December shared allowance will work in practice for users who divide their activity between ChatGPT and Codex, including how tokens will be counted across different tasks.

Musk’s post does not say whether xAI changed Grok Bot’s weekly usage pool, by how much, or whether users will receive resets or face a price adjustment. The statement gives no underlying cost or revenue data, so claims about the size of any loss cannot be verified from it. Reports cited in the source material describe a separate post from Grok’s official account about adjusted allocations and a dashboard fault, but the source author says they could not locate that post; those details remain unconfirmed here.

It is also not established that the changes at OpenAI and xAI stem from the same business decision. Their timing puts them in the same discussion about subscription economics, but each company’s rules and services differ.

Watch December Allowance Details

The next stated milestone is OpenAI’s shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance in December. Users and businesses will need the company’s implementation details to understand how the token meter applies across plans and how it interacts with the “Instant” chats described as outside the shared meter.

For xAI, the cited material contains no announced follow-up date or specific policy change after Musk’s post. Further detail from the company would be needed to establish whether Grok Bot limits have changed, what prompted the cost comment, and whether any adjustment is temporary or ongoing. Until then, the public record supports the narrower conclusion that Musk described the costs as unsustainable relative to revenue, not that a particular price or usage rule has been confirmed to change.

Key Questions

Is OpenAI ending flat-rate ChatGPT subscriptions?

No such change is announced in the source material. OpenAI has published account-sharing limits and plans to combine certain usage allowances across ChatGPT and Codex; those changes do not amount to an announcement that monthly subscriptions are ending.

What did Musk say about Grok Bot?

On November 1, 2026, Musk said the cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue. He did not provide figures or specify a change to pricing, usage limits or resets.

Which ChatGPT plans are affected by the account-sharing rules?

OpenAI’s help-center guidance described in the source material applies to Go, Plus and the Pro plans. The public guidance does not state the numerical device or payment-card thresholds.

When will ChatGPT and Codex use one shared allowance?

OpenAI says the shared allowance for Plus, Pro and Business begins in December 2026. The allowance is measured in tokens, while the source says unlimited “Instant” chats remain outside it.

Does Musk’s post prove Grok Bot usage limits were cut?

No. The post refers to high serving costs but does not say whether xAI reduced a usage pool, changed a reset, or altered prices. Those details remain unconfirmed in the cited material.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

This content is for general information only and is not financial, tax or legal advice. Consult a qualified professional for decisions about your money.
You May Also Like

3 tornadoes ripped through Orleans, Jefferson and Terrebonne areas: NWS

Three tornadoes touched down in Orleans, Jefferson, and Terrebonne parishes, causing damage. Authorities and NWS are assessing the impact and response.

Search for missing 6-year-old in Clayton County continuing overnight

Authorities are continuing their search for a 6-year-old child missing in Clayton County, with efforts ongoing overnight. No new suspects or leads confirmed yet.

Venezuela Is Desperately Searching for 50,000 Missing After Earthquakes

Venezuela is urgently seeking 50,000 missing persons following recent devastating earthquakes, with rescue efforts ongoing amid widespread destruction.

President Ilham Aliyev receives delegation from House of Representatives of Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan [PHOTOS/VIDEO]

President Ilham Aliyev received a delegation from Jordan’s House of Representatives, emphasizing bilateral cooperation and regional issues.