TL;DR
Get smart everyday buys delivered free — and shop member deals
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
U.S. Bank announced two Business Essentials Visa cards for small businesses, with cash-back rewards and access to spending management tools. The no-annual-fee card offers up to 2.5% total cash back when paired with a qualifying business checking balance; the $295-a-year Plus card offers up to 3.5% under that condition and 5% in the business’s top spend category, subject to a $200,000 annual limit.
U.S. Bank announced two Business Essentials Visa cards on Sept. 28, adding cash-back products aimed at small businesses. One has no annual fee; the other charges $295 a year and offers higher potential rewards, including 5% cash back on a business’s top spending category, subject to an annual cap.
The U.S. Bank Business Essentials Visa Card offers unlimited 2% cash back on everyday business purchases and has no annual fee, according to the bank’s release. Cardholders may receive up to 2.5% total cash back when they maintain a qualifying balance in a qualified U.S. Bank business checking account. The release did not specify the qualifying balance or further terms for that added reward.
The Business Essentials Plus Visa Signature Card also pays unlimited 2% cash back on everyday purchases. With a qualifying balance in a qualified business checking account, it offers up to 3.5% total cash back. It also provides 5% cash back on the business’s top spend category, capped at $200,000 in annual spending, and carries a $295 annual fee. Both cards include a welcome offer, Visa business benefits and access to U.S. Bank’s Spend Management platform and ExtendPay fixed-fee payment plan, the bank said.
U.S. Bank described the products as designed to provide straightforward rewards on routine business purchases. The announcement did not disclose the welcome offer amounts, full eligibility rules, or the categories and exclusions that may apply to rewards. Those details are material for businesses comparing the advertised rates with their expected costs and spending patterns.
Rewards Tied to Business Banking
The launch gives small businesses two different ways to earn cash back on operating expenses, with the Plus card adding a higher rate for one spending category in exchange for an annual fee. The checking-linked rates also make a business deposit relationship part of the reward proposition: the advertised maximum cash-back rates depend on maintaining a qualifying balance in an eligible account.
Rewards are a stated consideration for some small and midsize businesses choosing a primary card. A PYMNTS Intelligence report cited by PYMNTS found that 35.5% of surveyed SMBs said rewards or cash-back features influenced their primary-card choice; 14.1% called them the main reason, while 21.3% described them as important but not the leading factor. That survey finding provides context for the product launch, but it does not establish how many businesses will apply for or use the new cards.
For owners, the practical comparison will depend on eligible spending, the value of any qualifying checking balance and the Plus card’s annual fee. U.S. Bank also highlights expense-management access and a fixed-fee payment plan, though the release does not quantify how much those tools may save a business.
U.S. Bank’s Small Business Tools
The cards add to U.S. Bank’s recent small-business offerings. In July 2026, the bank said it introduced Enhanced Payments, a tool intended to help small businesses move money faster. In July 2025, it launched Business Resources Central, a free online hub with educational offerings for small businesses.
The September announcement also named actress and entrepreneur Jessica Alba as the bank’s new small-business spokesperson. Alba said in the bank’s release that she founded The Honest Company in 2012 and understood the value of support when building a business. Her role is promotional; the release did not connect it to the cards’ terms or eligibility.
“Our new Business Essentials cards offer small business owners straightforward, easy-to-use benefits that help simplify their spending, banking and expense management.”
— Courtney Kelso, U.S. Bank senior executive vice president of payments, consumer and small business
Eligibility and Reward Terms
The announcement does not state the qualifying checking balance needed for the enhanced rates, the welcome offer amounts, or the cards’ application and approval requirements. It also does not detail how the top spend category is identified, which purchases qualify, or whether other caps or exclusions apply. The Plus card’s 5% rate is explicitly limited to up to $200,000 in annual spending in the top category; the release does not explain the treatment of spending above that cap.
It is also unclear from the release when applications will be available and whether the stated rates reflect all terms that will appear in card agreements. Readers should consult the bank’s full product terms for those details.
Full Card Terms and Availability
The next practical step for prospective applicants is to review U.S. Bank’s complete card disclosures, including eligibility, reward limits, qualifying checking balance requirements, annual fee details and the welcome offer. The bank’s Sept. 28 announcement did not provide a specific application date or further milestones, so availability details remain to be confirmed.
Key Questions
What are the two new U.S. Bank business cards?
They are the Business Essentials Visa Card, which has no annual fee, and the Business Essentials Plus Visa Signature Card, which has a $295 annual fee.
How much cash back can the cards offer?
Both offer unlimited 2% cash back on everyday business purchases. With a qualifying balance in a qualified business checking account, the bank says the total rate can reach 2.5% on the standard card and 3.5% on the Plus card. The Plus card also offers 5% on the business’s top spend category, up to $200,000 in annual spending.
Do applicants need a U.S. Bank business checking account?
The announced checking-linked rates require a qualifying balance in a qualified business checking account. The release does not say whether a checking account is required to apply for either card or specify the balance needed to qualify for the higher rates.
What other features do the cards include?
U.S. Bank says both cards include a welcome offer, Visa business benefits, access to its Spend Management platform and its ExtendPay fixed-fee payment plan for large purchases. The release did not provide full terms for those features.
Source: rss
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
