🔍 Read the full analysis: What’s Different About ChatGPT Pro Now? on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get smart everyday buys delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
TL;DR
OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to the $200-a-month Pro plan and doubled Work and Codex allowances on its $100 and $500 Pro tiers. Pro 200 subscribers on the lower allowance now match those who had the higher one; some ChatGPT limits and all prices remain unchanged.
OpenAI canceled a planned cut to ChatGPT Pro 200 usage and increased the Work and Codex allowances on its $100 and $500 Pro plans, the company said in release notes published October 29. The change came a day before the lower Pro 200 allowance was due to take effect, and gives subscribers more room for work in OpenAI’s long-task and coding tools without changing plan prices.
OpenAI’s release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. ChatGPT Work and Codex use a shared allowance, according to OpenAI’s pricing information, so the increase applies to the combined pool rather than creating separate limits for each product. The updated help page says new subscribers receive the revised allowance and existing subscribers get it automatically, without waiting for a renewal.
For Pro 200, the company reversed the reduction announced in September. OpenAI says the lower allowance doubled to match the higher allowance already held by some subscribers; those who already had the higher allowance keep it. The change is not a doubling for every Pro 200 customer. The planned cut was set to begin October 30, according to the prior notice described in the source material.
OpenAI’s help page also specifies limits that did not change. Plus usage and the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 remain unchanged. Pro 200’s lower weekly GPT-6 Pro limit now matches its higher one. The faster Ultrafast mode remains exclusive to Pro 500. OpenAI said Business Premium usage is increasing, but its release note did not give a multiplier. An OpenAI product executive, Thibault Sottiaux, said in a social media post that the Business Premium limits were doubling; the more specific help page does not confirm that figure.
Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026
What each ChatGPT plan gets now.
OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.
Pro 100$100 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- No Ultrafast
Pro 200$200 / month
Cut cancelledRestored- Higher allowance: you keep it
- Lower allowance: doubled to match
- Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one
Pro 500$500 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- Only Pro plan with Ultrafast
Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat
Moreno factor publishedIncreased- Release note: usage “increasing”
- Tibo’s post: “doubling”
- No five-hour limit
Plus$20 / month
SameUnchanged- “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)
Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free
—Not mentioned- Not part of the 29 Oct notes
What “Work and Codex” means
- ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
- Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
- Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan
What did not double
- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
- Plus usage, and every price
- Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately
Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
More Work and Codex Capacity
The change affects subscribers who use ChatGPT for longer research and document tasks or rely on Codex for coding. A larger shared allowance may let those users run more work before reaching the applicable usage cap, while the reversal prevents the Pro 200 reduction that had prompted subscribers to expect less at the same price.
But the headline idea of “double the limits” needs qualification. OpenAI’s published details cover Work and Codex allowances, not every ChatGPT limit. The weekly GPT-6 Pro chat caps on Pro 100 and Pro 500 are unchanged, and OpenAI says actual usage can vary by model, task and speed mode. Customers comparing plans should distinguish those limits rather than assume all activity has doubled.
For companies, the higher Business Premium allowance could affect which seats employees need, but the public release note provides no numerical increase. The update also shows that usage allowances can be revised after customers have received notice of a planned change, making it prudent for organizations to keep subscription allowances distinct from API budgets and to check current plan details before setting usage expectations.
Products Worth Considering

Logitech MX Master 4 for Mac, Ergonomic Bluetooth Mouse with Haptic Feedback, Ultra-Fast Scrolling, USB-C Charging, for MacOS, iPadOS, Windo

Dell 34-Inch S3425DW Curved WQHD USB-C Monitor

Dell P2725H 27-Inch Full HD Monitor
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
September’s Planned Pro Cut
The revision followed a sequence of changes to OpenAI’s Pro plans. On September 10, the company paused new sign-ups for the $200 Pro tier. TechCrunch reported that Sottiaux attributed the pause to demand for GPT-6 Astra, quoting him as saying demand was “really unprecedented.” That characterization was his statement, not a usage figure published in the October release note.
OpenAI reopened Pro 200 on September 29, the day of its DevDay conference, and introduced a $500 Pro tier. The company’s notice said included usage allowances were changing while the $200 monthly price remained the same. Sottiaux described the earlier plan scale in a post as Plus at 1X, Pro 100 at 5X and Pro 200 at 10X, adding that some existing subscribers would keep a 20X multiplier “for a bit.” Those earlier descriptions help explain why the later reversal was not a uniform doubling for all Pro 200 customers.
On October 29, OpenAI published the reversal in ChatGPT and ChatGPT Business release notes. Its updated help page provides the clearest plan-by-plan qualifications: the stated increases concern Work and Codex, with other limits treated separately. The change requires no action from existing subscribers, according to that page.
“Demand for Astra is really unprecedented.”
— Thibault Sottiaux, as quoted by TechCrunch in September
OpenAI’s release note confirms more usage for Business Premium but does not state how much more. Sottiaux described the increase as a doubling, while the help-page language cited in the source material does not specify a multiplier. The precise Business Premium allowance and how it varies by seat or account are not established by the published details summarized here.
OpenAI’s release note also does not mention Plus, Business Standard, Go or Free; the source material reports Plus as unchanged based on the help page, while the other plans are not addressed in the October 29 notes. The company has not provided a public numerical estimate of how many tasks a doubled Work and Codex allowance supports. It says usage depends on the model, task and speed mode, so the same allowance may not translate into twice as many completed tasks.
Check Current Plan Allowances
The new allowances are effective immediately, and existing subscribers do not need to take action, OpenAI’s help page says. Customers can check their account’s usage information and the current plan details to see which allowance applies to them, particularly if they are on Pro 200 and do not know whether they previously had the lower or higher allowance.
For Business Premium customers, the next useful clarification would be a published numerical allowance or updated seat-level details from OpenAI. Until then, businesses should treat the confirmed statement as an increase, not a verified doubling. Any later changes to plan limits, pricing or the availability of the tiers would require a new company announcement; the October 29 update does not set out a further schedule.
Key Questions
What changed for ChatGPT Pro on October 29?
OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500, canceled a planned Pro 200 reduction, and increased Business Premium usage. The company did not change plan prices in this update.
Did every Pro 200 subscriber get twice as much usage?
No. OpenAI says the lower Pro 200 allowance doubled to match the higher allowance. Subscribers who already had the higher allowance keep it, so the change is not a doubling for everyone.
Did ChatGPT’s weekly GPT-6 Pro limits also double?
Not on every tier. The weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 are unchanged. Pro 200’s lower weekly limit now matches its higher one, according to OpenAI’s help page.
Do existing subscribers need to renew or take action?
No. OpenAI says existing subscribers receive the revised allowance automatically, without waiting for renewal.
How much did Business Premium usage increase?
OpenAI’s release note says Business Premium usage is increasing but gives no numerical amount. Sottiaux said it was doubling in a social media post, but the help-page details cited in the source material do not confirm a multiplier.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
